Election Process

In broad outline and plain language, here's how MCN members become board members and officers. The canonical details are in our By-Laws.


With input from the general membership and the board, a Nominating Committee develops a ballot of candidates for the Board of Directors. Board members are elected to three-year terms in our general election, and each can serve up to two consecutive elected terms (plus, in some circumstances explained in the By-Laws, up to two years "ex officio").


The board has four officers: President, Vice President/President-Elect, Secretary, and Treasurer. The Secretary and Treasurer are elected within the board. The Vice President/President-Elect (VP/P-E), who eventually becomes President, is elected in the general election. A vote for VP/P-E is a vote for someone to be VP/P-E for one year and then President the year after that (thus the "President-Elect" part); so when a President takes office, she or he was voted into that position a year earlier. We try to find two viable candidates for VP/P-E (incoming President) each year; but as do many not-for-profit organizations led by all-volunteer boards, MCN often has only one prospective candidate who is prepared and able to stand for election to its leadership role on any given ballot.


Election voting procedures are announced via direct email to all MCN members. Election results are announced at the Annual Meeting held each year during the MCN Annual Conference. 


2012 Board Elections Results

The 2012 elections to elect new Directors to the board of Museum Computer Network closed on Friday September 28. We're pleased to announce that the following candidates were elected to the MCN board of Directors:

-Charlotte Sexton (Head Digital Media, The National Gallery, London) was elected VP/President Elect;

-Ed Rodley (Exhibit Developer, Museum of Science, Boston);

-Victoria Portway (Chair of the Web & New Media Division, Smithsonian National Air and Space Museum);

-Rosana Flouty (Director of Education, Art21);

-Carolyn Royston (Head of Digital Media, Imperial War Museums, UK).

All members are elected to a 3-year term except for Charlotte Sexton who was elected in 2011 and whose term will end in 2014. 

We look forward to introducing you our new board members during the 40th Annual Conference next month in Seattle. 

Thank you for your support of MCN.

Christina DePaolo
MCN President
Allegra Burnette
MCN Vice President / President Elect